Rajasthan State Formation: Post Independence

Administration Rajasthan British Rule

Post 1947 Unification of Rajasthan: Formation of state of Rajasthan

Before Independence, Rajasthan was Rajputana consisting of twenty-two small and big Princely States. On 5th July 1947 the State Secretariat was established with V. K Menon as its Secretary. In August 1947, at the time of Independence, Rajasthan included 19 princely state & 3 thikanas (Chiefships) of Neemrana, Lava & Kushalgarh.


Though these Princely States were declared to have been annexed to the Union of India on 15 August, 1947, the process of merger and their unification became completed in Novemeber,1956, in 7 stages/phases.


First Stage of formation of Rajasthan: Matsya Union

In the first stage of merger four Princely States of Alwar, Bharatpur, Dholpur and Karauli formed the Matsya Union and it was inaugurated on 17th March, 1948. The Cabinet of this Union was formed under the Leadership of Shri Shobha Ram, from Alwar.



Second Stage of formation of Rajasthan: Rajasthan Union

2nd Stage: Separate from Matsya Union, the Rajasthan Union, consisting of Banswara, Bundi, Dungarpur, Jhalawar, Kishangarh, Pratapgarh, Shahapura, Tonk and Kota, was inaugurated on 25 March, 1948. The Kota State got the honour of being the capital of this Union. The Kota Naresh was appointed as the Rajpramukh and Shri Gokul Lal Asawa was appointed as the Chief Minister.



Third Stage of formation of Rajasthan: United States of Rajasthan

3rd Stage: But only three days after inauguration of Rajasthan Union, the Maharana of Udaipur decided to join this Union which was accepted by the Government of India. The Maharana of Udaipur was appointed as Rajpramukh and the Kota Naresh was appointed as Up- Rajpramukh of this Union and the Cabinet was formed Under the leadership of Shri Manikya Lal Verma. This United States of Rajasthan was inaugurated by Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru on 18 April, 1948.



Fourth Stage of formation of Rajasthan: Greater Rajasthan

4th Stage: The formation of the United States of Rajasthan paved the way for the merger of big states like Bikaner, Jaisalmer, Jaipur and Jodhpur with the Union and formation of Greater Rajasthan. It was formally inaugurated on 30 March, 1949 by Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel. The Maharana Bhupal Singh of Udaipur was appointed as the Maha-Rajpramukh and the Kota Naresh was appointed as the Up- Rajpramukh and the Cabinet was formed under the leadership of Shri Hira Lala Shastri.

Trivia: Rajasthan Day: 30th March (based on this stage)



Fifth Stage of formation of Rajasthan: United States of Greater Rajasthan

5th Stage: Finally, Matsya Union was merged with Greater Rajasthan on 15 May, 1949. The post of Prime minister was discontinued and a Chief minister office was constituted. Hiralal Shastri‘  became the first Chief Minister of Rajasthan.



Sixth Stage of formation of Rajasthan: United Rajasthan

6th Stage:  In 6th Stage, 18 states of United Rajasthan & princely state of Sirohi got merged with exception of Abu & Delwara. It was completed by 26 Jan 1950.



Seventh Stage of formation of Rajasthan: Rajasthan We Know

7th Stage: This stage completed the integration, formation and reorganization of state of Rajasthan and took place because of State Re-organization Act of 1956. Under this, the erstwhile part ‘C’ State of Ajmer, Abu Road Taluka, former part of princely State Sirohi which was merged in former Bombay, State and Sunel Tappa region of the former Madhya Bharat merged with Rajasthan and Sironj subdistrict of Jhalawar district was transferred to Madhya Pradesh. The process got completed on 1 November 1956 and Mohanlal Sukhadia  became Chief Minsiter and Gurumukh Nihal SIngh became Governor.


Trivia: Rajasthan Day: 30th March

Summary: Stages of Rajasthan State Formation

Rajasthan formation stage-s

New districts Formation: After State Reorganization Act of 1956

After State reorganization of 1956, came to place on November 1 , 1956, there were 26 districts in Rajasthan. However, the formation of new districts did not stop there and there was formation of new districts from time to time:

  • 27th District: Dholpur
    • Formed by division of Bharatpur on 15-April-1982
  • 28th District: Bara
    • Formed by division of Kota on 10-April-1991
  • 29th District: Dausa
    • Formed by division of Jaipur on 10-April-1991
  • 30th District: Rajsamand
    • Formed by division of Udaipur on 10-April-1991
  • 31st District: Hanumangarh
    • Formed by division of Sri Ganganagar on 12-July-1994
  • 32nd District: Karoli
    • Formed by division of Sawai Madhopur on 19-July-1997
  • 33rd District: Pratapgarh
    • Formed by reorganizing Udaipur, Chittorgarh and Banswara districts on 26-Jan-2008



Featured Image Source: euratlas.net