National Sports Awards


The Union Government bestows National Sports Awards every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports in India. These awards include Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Dronacharya Award, Arjuna Award, Dhyan Chand Award, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar . These are awarded annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award It is the highest rank National Sports Award in India. Continue Reading

Rajasthan State Sports Council

Rajasthan State Sports Council RSSC

Rajasthan State Sports Council (RSSC) is the apex body at the State level to look after the development of sports activities and providing coaching to the players. RSSC was set up in 1957 by the Government of Rajasthan and is registered as a society under Rajasthan State Society Act, 1958. The State Government has been providing grant-in-aid to the Council.  Mr. V.G.Kanetkar was the first President of the Council.   Shri J.C. Mohanti (Principal Secretary-General, Youth Affairs and Sports Department) is the current Continue Reading

National Games of India

National Games of India

The National Games comprises various disciplines in which sportsmen from the different states of India participate against each other. Brief History of National Games of India: The genesis of the National Games is in the Olympic movement, which gathered momentum in the country in the 1920’s. There was a  need to identify national talent that could be picked for the Olympic Games. With this idea, Dr. A. G. Noehren (Director YMCA) and Harry Crowe Buck Continue Reading

India at Olympics

India at Olympics

India’s journey at  Olympic Games in 1900, with single athelete Norman Pritchard participating and  winning two medals- both silver- in athletics. Till now, India has won 9 Gold Medals, 7 Silver Medals and 12 Bronze Medals in Olympics with maximum number of gold medals (Eight) coming from Hockey. Brief History of Olympics Inspired by the ancient Olympic Games, which were held in Olympia, Greece, from the 8th century BC to the 4th century AD. Baron Pierre de Continue Reading

Indian Olympic Association

Indian Olympic Association IOA

The Indian Olympic Association is the body responsible for selecting athletes to represent India at the Olympic Games, Asian Games and other international athletic meets and for managing the Indian teams at these events. Indian Olympic Association: Fact File Formed: 1927 Headquarter: New Delhi First President: Sir Dorabji Tata Current President: Dr. Narinder Dhruv Batra First Secretary General: Dr. A. G. Noehren Current Secretary General: Rajeev Mehta History of Indian Olympic Association India first participated in the Olympics in 1900 in Continue Reading