Wildlife Protected Areas: Rajasthan

Rajasthan has good network of protected areas. Now it is better first we understand the different types of wildlife protection areas and then look at the list.  The Protected Areas are declared under Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972.  Now, Wildlife Protection Act provides for 4 types of Protected areas:
1. National Park – 5 in Rajasthan
2. Wildlife Sanctuary – 25
3. Conservation Reserves – 10
4. Community Reserves

Apart from these above 4, based on UNESCO’s Man and Biosphere (MAB) the government has nominated 5th type: Biosphere Reserve. (Rajasthan Biosphere reserve = 0). Biosphere reserve has zone system. BR

Human Activities are allowed inManipulation zone and only sustainable activities/Tourism are allowed in buffer zone. In core zone no activities/disturbance is allowed.


Now, coming back to the initial 4types. Conservation reserves and community reserves were added to Wildlife Protection act as an amendment in 2002 and aim to bring in participation of local communities, private persons in wildlife protection.

The most important protected areas are National Park & Wildlife Sanctuaries, and it is important to understand their difference with biosphere reserve.

Now Coming to list of National Parks in Rajasthan:Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 5.53.33 PM

List of Wildlife Sanctuaries in Rajasthan Include:WS

Apart from above two there are also 10 -Conservation Reserves in Rajasthan:CR



Like page so that you don’t miss any important post: